Academy Home | Student Dashboard

BUS208 unit 1 section 1 discussion

bus208

Hello folks! I’m new to this course as well as the discussion, so please let me know if I’m doing anything wrong! For the first section, there were 5 discussion points, and I’d like some view on them if I could.

The first asked how Goodwill’s P-O-L-C would differ from Starbucks. I am not familiar with the management of Starbucks, but I would assume that the hiring process would be considerably different. (The “controlling” portion I suppose). Whereas Goodwill prioritizes those people who may need a bit of help in becoming financially stable, Starbucks is more interested in turning a profit. This would require people with a higher and more specific set of skills. The “planning” portion would be different as well. Goodwill would have to plan for the dynamic future and the requirements in obtaining a job in that future, whereas Starbucks would plan for efficiency and quality of the product. Leadership would be the same, I would think, because in the end both organizations are still working with people. Perhaps the belief systems, priorities, and cultures would be different (in fact I am certain they would be) but the overall practice of encouraging people to do their job well wouldn’t chance too much, other than Goodwill spending more time insisting employees work together regardless of personal prejudices.

The second question asked what Goodwill’s competitive advantages were. The price for the products are considerably cheaper in Goodwill than in retail stores. They are able to do this through massive donations from the community of used goods. Their labor force is a good advertising gig, motivating people to buy from Goodwill to support the betterment of those in need.