I don't understand how this works

I’m studying Biology and in Section 1.2 Reproduction, the textbook says that DNA containing genes is passed down to an organisms offspring, meaning the offspring will be in the same species as the parent. But in Biology section 1.2 Adaption the textbook says the great diversity of species is “a consequence of evolution by natural selection, which operates in the lineage of reproducing organisms” Later, when discussing the great variety of species, the textbook states (1.2, The Diversity of Life) “The source of this diversity is evolution, the process of gradual change during which new species arise from older species.” But if the DNA passed down from the parent to the child means the child is the same species as the parent, how can evolution occur?

1 Like

One common definition of a species is a group of organisms where two members can produce viable offspring. So for instance, horses and donkeys can mate to produce a mule, but this isn’t considered a viable offspring since mules can’t mate; horses and donkeys are different species. An elephant and a squirrel can’t mate to produce any offspring for… a few different reasons.

Imagine that there is a species of bird on two sides of a tall mountain range (so tall that the birds don’t fly over it so the two groups are isolated). These two groups of birds are two populations of the same species - if you capture a male from one side and a female from the other and mated them in captivity, they’d produce viable offspring. As time goes on, weather patterns change and the leeward side of the mountain becomes more and more arid. There is less food in this more arid environment which creates an evolutionary pressure for the average size of this population to become smaller.