Introductions

The world is a discussion in progress. Come along!

Use this thread to introduce yourself to the Saylor Academy community and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Welcome to the Saylor Academy forums!

Hi there!

My name is Nicole, I’m a 27 year-old English grad student in Boston. I just started winter break and love the changes I’ve seen so far!

:slight_smile:

Hi @bostongross (AKA Nicole)! You are the first non-staff person here. It is possible…just possible…that email invites to these prototype forums were sent out, early, inadvertently. Regardless, you are here and you are most welcome. We will open these up for beta soon and officially invite folks to join in.

Until then, things will be a bit quiet. To fill the void, and in honor of your being the first to arrive (with enthusiasm!), you win this badge – wholly unique in the world, as far as I know.

Getting Oriented in Discourse (Saylor Academy forums, open beta period)

Hey! I’m Bethany and I’m 16 years old. This new discussion forum is really cool!!!

Hi Bethany! Thanks for trying this out – and for being bold and leaving a post!

I suppose I should introduce myself to the world, too – I’m Sean, on the staff at Saylor for a bit over four years now. My bio statement thing is here: https://discourse.saylor.org/users/seanconnor

But I should add that I love learning of all sorts, which maybe stands to reason given where I work.

Sean et al – My name is Scott and I’m new to both Saylor and Discourse. But I can already say that Discourse is big improvement to the usual forum software. I’m posting here rather than starting a new thread because you are still in Beta with this platform, and I am sure you don’t want to clutter this new clean room ;). But if you (Sean) prefer to respond in a new thread, please feel free to do so.