MA005 Calculus 1 Coaching Session 1.2.1 # 5

ma005

Hi this is Swapnila! I am a Student Success Coach and will be explaining some practice problems from the MA005 Calculus course. Today we will review an assigned problem from Unit 1. In the “Homework Assessment” you were asked to solve this problem:

a) We will use following approach to solve this part:

1. First find the distance traveled by the airplane at the given time.
  2. Denote the angle at intersection of direction of airplane and telescope as θ
  3. Plug the values of opposite and adjacent sides in the slope formula.

Step 1: First find the distance traveled by the airplane at the given time:
Distance = velocity ∙ time
i) After t = 5 seconds.
Distance = 300 ∙ 5 = 1500 feet
ii) After t =10 seconds.
Distance = 300∙10 = 3000 feet
iii) After t = 20 seconds.
Distance = 300 ∙ 20 = 6000 feet

Step 2: Denote the angle at intersection of direction of airplane and telescope as θ:

Step 3: Plug the values of opposite and adjacent sides in the slope formula:
Slope formula:
i) After t=5 seconds:
The distance traveled by the airplane is 1500 feet, which is the adjacent side, and altitude of airplane is 5000 feet, which is the opposite side, as shown in the figure below:

Plug these values in the formula:
Simplify:

ii) After t=10 seconds:
The distance traveled by the airplane is 3000 feet, which is the adjacent side, and altitude of airplane is 5000 feet, which is the opposite side, as shown in the figure below:
Simplify:

iii) After t=20 seconds:
The distance traveled by the airplane is 6000 feet, which is the adjacent side, and altitude of airplane is 5000 feet, which is the opposite side, as shown in the figure below:
Simplify:

Conclusion:
By using slope formula,
i) The slope of the telescope after 5 seconds is image
ii) The slope of the telescope after 10 seconds is image
iii) The slope of the telescope after 20 seconds is image