MA005 Calculus Coaching Session 1.1.1 # 3

ma005

Hi this is Swapnila! I am a Student Success Coach and will be explaining some practice problems from the MA005 Calculus course. Today we will review an assigned problem from Unit 1. In the “Homework Assessment” you were asked to solve this problem:
Fig. 9 shows the temperature of a cup of coffee during a ten-minute period. (Each of your answers in (a) – ( c) should have the units “degrees per minute.”)
(a) What was the average rate of cooling from minute 0 to minute 10?
(b) What was the average rate of cooling from minute 7 to minute 8? From minute 8 to minute 9?
(c ) What was the rate of cooling at minute 8? At minute 2?
(d) When was cold milk added to the coffee?
Solution:
(a)
Approach this problem as follows:

1. Find temperatures for time minute 0 and time minute 10.
  2. Find the average rate of cooling over [a,b] by using the formula
    Step 1: Find temperatures for time minute 0 and time minute 10:
    By using the given graph, image
    Step 2: Find the average rate of cooling:
    From step 1, average rate of cooling from minute 0 to minute 10 is calculated by
    Therefore, average rate of cooling becomes

Conclusion: The average rate of cooling from minute 0 to minute 10 is approximately 8 degrees per minute.

(b)

1. Find temperatures for time minute 7 and time minute 8.
    Find temperatures for time minute 8 and time minute 9.
  2. Find the average rate of cooling over [a,b] by using the formula
    Step 1: Find temperatures for time minute 7 and time minute 8:
    Step 2: Find the average rate of cooling:
    From step 1, average rate of cooling from minute 7 to minute 8 is calculated by
    From step 1, average rate of cooling from minute 8 to minute 9 is calculated by
    Conclusion: The average rate of cooling from minute 7 to minute 8 is approximately 6 degrees per minute. The average rate of cooling from minute 8 to minute 9 is approximately 5 degrees per minute.

( c)