PHIL102: The Importance of Critical Thinking

Consider the following questions below from a variety of angles. Then, share your thoughts on the discussion forum. Make sure to review and respond to one or two other students’ posts before logging off.

1. Is critical thinking important? Why, or why not?
  2. How will the understanding and use of critical thinking benefit you in your life now and in the future?
  3. How do emotions affect one’s ability to think critically?
3 Likes
  1. Critical thinking is important. It is a tool to help us to analyze, assess and improve the way we treat information (concept, assumption, interpretation, etc). Critical thinking helps people to think creatively, solve their problems systematically and review their point of view.
  2. The understanding and use of critical thinking helps me to make better decisions now and in the future. As a teacher, I need critical thinking to make better planning, analysis and reflection every day. It can be a tool to gather and apply information, consider the implication and explore other point of views. It leads us to be a self-learner and more independent.
  3. Emotions can affect one’s ability to think critically. Emotions can decrease our critical thinking. It can cloud our judgment to reason and fact. Emotion can support critical thinking when emotions (feelings) lead us to think critically about an issue.
5 Likes

critical thinking is important because it heps us us to make a good decision and improve the way we think . your able to solve exremly hard problems.c without critical thin think people will act on impulse which could get them hurt or hurt someone else. your emotions help u think critically because they detremine how you will response in every situattion.

1 Like

I think you’ve given a very reasonable response to the question(s), Maria.

I’d like to briefly share some additional perspective based on my own personal experiences: